Graded Examinations in Spoken English (GESE)

Graded Examinations in Spoken English (GESE)

The GESE exam aims to develop and build confidence for students whose first language is not English.  It assesses the students’ English listening and speaking skills through one-to-one oral examinations with a native English-speaking Trinity examiner.

The exams are for those that have learnt English as a second or foreign language before.  Candidates must be at least 5 years old at the time of the exam, however there is no upper age limit. 

The exam has 12 grades, which are linked to the Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR). The grades are split between stages, which enables the student to monitor their development and progress. 

cefr eureka gese

For each exam/grade candidates will be given a mark in the form of a letter:
A: Distinction – Candidate has provided an excellent performance
B: Merit – Candidate has provided a good performance
C: Pass – Candidate has provided a satisfactory performance
D: Fail – Candidate has provided an unsatisfactory performance 

Candidates can start at any grade, even if they have not taken a Trinity exam before, but will only be accepted if they have met the requirements.